Loving the new mike!

 

Well, there it is, set up on the side of my writing desk, making me look as though I’m some kind of recording star.

I’m not afraid of using mikes. I used to sell them when I was much younger. My TANDY PZM mike was one of the best recording mikes ever. I also owned a Realistic high-ball dynamic mike and it was the best vocal stage mike in it’s range. My band mates at the time always grabbed my mikes when they had troubles with any other.
Times have changed and microphones have changed too. USB mikes now allow studio quality microphones to go straight into a computer without the need for extra hardware. The software is Plug and Play so hooking it in is easy too. All you need is software to record and mix the things and you’re done.
This fella hears everything! The tracks he makes are crisp and clear, making all the old work I’ve recorded before, sound as though it came from inside a tin can. The mike’s so good that I’ve discovered that I have to work on my breathing to get the phrasings right otherwise I’ll spend too much time editing out all the huff and puffs!
Soundcloud is great for online tracks. It gives members two hours of free recording time and enough good quality coding to insert tracks into simple blog posts. If you go to my site you’ll see there’s a smattering of tracks appearing almost everywhere. I intend to add more to them as the weeks pass. The only issue I have (apart from time) is background noise. I don’t have a soundproof room for any of this and the mike picks up everything! We’ve got galahs outside the house, parrots, cars, whipper-snippers, blowers, planes and construction going on nearby. They all make it difficult to record anything. (If you listen carefully, one of the tracks has the squawk of a Pink and Grey Galah and another features a paraglider’s engine as he passed over!)
Does recording tracks for a author’s book blog help sell that author’s book?
I don’t know. We’ll have to see. It’s too early to say. Since re-awakening the Soundcloud files I put down a year ago, I’d say it helps because people seem to like the novelty of sound files on author sites. Like websurfers, readers are attracted to new things. Listening to tracks isn’t new but seeing tracks appear on author sites is. Curiosity gets the better of readers and they press play to find out what an author is talking about. Maybe they just want to hear their voice. I don’t know, in any case, my purpose in recording these tracks is to make a full-length audiobook of my novel! I don’t need to know the answer but I do need the recording practice and the equipment to do it.
It seems to help. That’s all I can say.
I’ve also found out I need a soundproof environment… and a far better voice! These are something I can work on.
Nevertheless, having the sound files on a book site seems to add a new dimension to a browser’s web experience. Folks like playing with things when they visit the pages, the sounds give them something more to do. Sales rates have increased slightly but it’s hard to say whether it due to this or something else we’ve done.

-Michael.

Michael Forman’s books on Goodreads ratings: 4 (avg rating 4.50)
Seethings
‘Forman’s writing style is artful, with the protagonist Mitchell’s warped thought processes masterfully exposed. The author has a powerful and vivid command of language and his word pictures are stark and disturbingly real.’  – Linda J Bettenay, author of ‘Secrets Mothers Keep’ and ‘Wishes For Starlight’
Leave a Reply

