Seeding a thriller plot with chocolate.

Thriller plot

Thriller Plot: Ever been touched by a one so intimately that it felt like it was totally written for you?

Sometimes we read a book or watch a movie and see that it fits our personality and thoughts to a tee. It says everything we’ve ever thought and the characters fit our friends and the people we know. Things get even more scary when the story is built around a thriller plot.

That guy we’re strangely attracted to? He could be a killer – nah, not possible. He’s too nice.

That girl we slept with last night? She’s hot but seems to have a dark side – but she’s so sweet.

I watched Wolf Creek, a movie with a good thriller plot, and two questions came to me during the credit roll-by: Anyone can be a killer, right? What happens to killers who never get caught? Are there sleeper-killers in the community waiting to wake, kill once, and then go back to sleep and never be discovered?

No one survives… except the bad guy. Yep, in this thriller plot, the good-over-evil cliche is busted… and I liked it!

The Perfect Thriller Plot

I wanted to write a thriller plot like that. I wanted to explore this notion of trying to understand why it was so awkward to accept a non-conventional outcome in a story. It was as if I’d never had chocolate and someone just gave me the tiniest piece of it and never told me what it was. It’s enough to entice my curiosity but not enough to answer every new question I had about it.

SEETHINGS was my exploration of this gap – inventing a thriller plot just from a sensation of taste!

The perfect Thriller plotJust how many unsolved murders are there each year? Why are they unsolved? People go missing all the time and not all are lost to natural causes. It’s true… and police don’t catch everyone who commits a murder. Some happen once and apparently never happen again.

Who are these uncaught murderers? Do they have jobs? Do they live beside us? If justice doesn’t see to them, where do they go? Do they just blend in and go free to live their lives as if nothing happened? More importantly, can I make a reader feel just as uncomfortable by making my own blend of chocolate and putting it into a thriller plot?

SEETHINGS is my chocolate. -Mx

Subscribe to my work here: Subscribe

My Novel ¦Author ¦ Order 
SEETHINGS novel by Michael Forman (This is real)

‘Forman’s writing style is artful, with the protagonist Mitchell’s warped thought processes masterfully exposed. The author has a powerful and vivid command of language and his word pictures are stark and disturbingly real.’  – Linda J Bettenay, author of ‘Secrets Mothers Keep’ and ‘Wishes For Starlight’

Leave a Reply

